Kitakami Photoblog

Daily photos from Kitakami, a small town in Northern Japan, and its surroundings.

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Classical japanese bamboo fence.

Next picture will be when I'm back from my vacation in Europe, so see you at the end of July!

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Big playground

Kitakamis most popular park - if you ask the children!

Thursday, June 22, 2006

Another rather unusual house design

Apartment house in Central Kitakami.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Bluer than the sky

... which isn't difficult on such a grey day, I admit. But this house is really very blue.

Tuesday, June 20, 2006


Traditional wooden building, featuring an Azalea bonsai exhibition.

Monday, June 19, 2006


Kitakami downtown. Even the cars are grey.

Friday, June 16, 2006


Flowering tree in the forest.

Thursday, June 15, 2006


Iris meadow in a park of Kitakami.

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Tiny temple on "Men's mountain"

This hill in the south of Kitakami was formerly considered as holy, women weren't allowed to climb it.

Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Small family cemetery in the midst of ricefields.

Thursday, June 08, 2006


Spring forest in the mountains

Wednesday, June 07, 2006


Farmhouse in Kitakami.

Tuesday, June 06, 2006


Saturday, June 03, 2006



Friday, June 02, 2006


Bicycles like rainbow-colours.

Thursday, June 01, 2006

Landscape around Kitakami, seen from the plane.